I’ll start with something that leapt out at me at the beginning of the episode. The bride genuflects at the altar. Like, literally, she kneels and says a prayer. Way to sneak some active religion into the show! I was impressed by that. I was raised Catholic and that’s a big part of the services and sacraments. I wonder if the writer was Catholic.

First appearance of the Romulans. They’re such a fixture in the later Treks that it was like seeing an old friend. Fantastic that they’re played more or less the same way (sneaky, aggressive, intelligent) in TNG and beyond. I liked the suspicion Stiles had of Spock. It made perfect sense. I can imagine the original audience wondering the same thing. After all, they’ve only know Spock a few episodes.
It’s also interesting to think ahead to Spock’s later unification efforts and that it’s helping the Romulans that ultimately sends him back in time to about ten years before this point, where we see the alternate Star Trek (2009) movie. For him, it all started here.
Romulus and Remus, by the way, were the mythical founders of Rome. I suppose the writer knew that when he assigned ranks like “Centurion.” I’m not sure that detail carried over to TNG-era Romulans.

Overall, great episode. In some ways, it seems like the spiritual predecessor to “Wrath Of Kahn,” in the cat-and-mouse game employed in the battle (yes, I know the actual successor is “Space Seed,” but the parrallels here are uncanny). It, too, makes perfect sense. The starships are ships, not fighter planes, so their combat techniques in both would more resemble seafaring battles than aerial dogfights. Nice to see the aggressive “We have to take them out” attitude supported by Kirk here. I couldn’t help but think of all the times the Romulans violate the Neutral Zone in TNG and Picard is forced to let them go for fear of starting a war. That always bugged me, so here I’m thinking Picard ought to have taken a page out of Kirk’s book (add that to the Picard vs Kirk debate, folks). They violated the treaty, they get a boot to the ass!

On a technical note, there is no ‘up’ in space, so having both ships damaged and adrift portrayed as the exteriors resting askew to the camera was amusing (I know, I know, how else do you show it…). To balance that artistic license, I’ll say that they did correctly portray the comet’s tail. Such a tail does not shoot out of the back of the comet as commonly depicted. It ejects the tail in the direction opposite the star causing it. So here, the tail appeared to shoot out ‘sideways’ to the left as it traveled the same direction as the Enterprise and the Bird Of Prey. Kudos to the effects crew in getting that right. 
