Here is the original first issue, picking up a short time after the events of the “Prequel” issue. You’ll immediately notice the rougher quality of the art. At the time, I’d never tried anything like this, writing and drawing a comic, so I was sort of making it up as I went, with only a vague idea of where I was going. I did settle on a direction and an overall story arc halfway through writing this issue, but lacked the patience to refine the art before I started, nor did I script the story. I wrote it as I did the pencils and only occasionally changed things as I inked the pages. In retrospect, it was probably not the best way to write the tightest story, but it let me explore whichever directions I felt like taking it. If I plotted the entire thing out before I put pencil to paper, I fear it would’ve become stale to me by the time it came to do it. I also didn’t know that was how most comics did it. Again, impatience took over and I just dove right in.

[In 2012 I experimented with completely re-doing the text. I felt the original was pretty illegible. I didn’t alter the content, just fixed mistakes and made it clearer for the reader.]

Also included are two later strips whose events proceed the first issue.

Enjoy.


“The Date”
A strip which ran in the Eyeopener in 1996.

“Stress”
A page-long strip I used as a test for the comic.









(Horizon Line & Apex Comics, characters and events depicted therein are copyright 2012 Patrick Lemieux. All rights reserved. Registered with the National Library Of Canada)

