If you know who wrote this, send them to this blog post. They should hear what I have to say, too!

There’s a growing trend on Facebook that I’ve started to take exception to. The sentiment presented on the left demonstrates my point and it should be obvious why it has to stop.

If it’s not so obvious, allow me to explain. As we all know, Facebook is the biggest online social networking site on the planet and unless something really better comes along, this won’t change in our lifetime. If you don’t have a Facebook page, I’m sure you could list ten people you know who do (probably more). We share thoughts, life details and images with Friends and Family, Liking what we agree with and Commenting on that which deserves our attention.

For some, we share interesting news articles and tidbits, the occasional YouTube video and maybe a sincere sentiment about something we care about. For others, that’s not quite enough.

Here’s another example:

Like the earlier post, this presents a moving thought that I’m sure everyone would agree with. A little girl with cancer would appreciate a bald Barbie she might identify with and the girl’s parents would appreciate the toy company acknowledging that “Pretty” is a relative term. In the second example, pausing to remember those who fight and fought, won and lost, the battle with cancer is probably a universally good thing to do. I don’t disagree.

What I take issue with is the part about how few Facebook Friends will repost or Share this post. I know the people who repost these kernels of moral superiority did not necessarily write them, but by passing it on, you also accept the role of emotional blackmailer which originated with the author. You’re presenting your Friends and Family on Facebook with the awkward choice of either Sharing the post out of guilt or looking like they don’t care about cancer (or baby seals, or the environment, or whichever meaningful subject these posts address). I confess, I’ve passed one or two of these on because I believed the first part and hoped my Facebook Contacts overlooked the guilt-trip embedded in the second part, but I will do this no more and with a clear conscience.

After the most recent example appeared in my news feed, I posted for all to see that I resented the “[X amount] of people won’t repost/Share this” portion of these things. It was then that I decided to write this article.

No one should be made to feel morally inferior because we chose not to pay forward someone else’s feelings on an issue, whether we agree or not. If the people who write these things feel they’re cleverly exposing some truth about the apathy of others, they are mistaken in a most insulting way.

I don’t blame my Friends for sharing an otherwise positive intention. The targets of my resentment are the holier-than-thou authors who would pass judgement on our choice not to advertise our views and beliefs on Facebook or anywhere else.

For what it’s worth, I absolve you all from feeling guilty about not Sharing these posts when they come up in your news feed.

