Some recent sketchbook entries:

Sunday, May 13th, 2012,

“Need new artwork. Theatre-related?”

Theatre painting ideas from the sketchbook (© Patrick Lemieux, 2012)

Monday, May 14th, 2012,

“Rebound” video shoot today [Symphony of Nine’s recent single and forthcoming video]. 2:43 PM and awaiting Scott and crew’s arrival. Sitting on the patio of the Flatiron  & Firkin. It’s a beautiful day.

Debating an experiment where I try a painting a day for five days a week through June, excluding holidays and vacations. Could be interesting. The problem with a piece a day is ideas. What would I paint? Also, would I burn out?”

Scott Brown & Taylor Brown at The Flatiron & Firkin, working on the “Rebound” video. (© Patrick Lemieux, 2012)

[After the shoot, the band and I went to The Sphagetti Factory for dinner. I told them of my idea of doing a painting a day in June, excluding weekends and holidays, and that I hoped to have maybe 15 pieces done by the end. They, too, wondered if I could do it.]

Sunday, May 27th, 2012

A page of sketches. Was thinking abstract in the second one. (© Patrick Lemieux, 2012)

[At this point I was leaning heavily toward the June Paintathon, as I call it. My thought was to sketch as much new material as I could, so all I had to do each day was pick one and paint it. It was a good plan, insofar as I only sort of stuck to it.]

Saturday, June 2nd, 2012

Two sketches. (© Patrick Lemieux, 2012)

[After Day 1 (Friday, June 1st) had gone so well and I was taking weekends off as part of the June plan, I was on the GO train to visit my brother and was sketching a few more ideas.]

Monday, June 4th, 2012

(© Patrick Lemieux, 2012)

[A quick sketch for compositional purposes for that day’s piece, followed by the actual artwork completed that evening. You’ll notice I pulled ideas from a few different sketches made previously, rather than just painting a single one. Turns out, I’d do this a lot, mining those ideas.]

Notes (Acrylic on canvas, 8″ x 14″, © Patrick Lemieux)

Saturday, June 8th, 2012

[A day off after most of the week was spent painting. I got four pieces done in five working days, as one piece took two days to complete. Was on the patio of The Pour House when I sketched these.]

Sketches (© Patrick Lemieux, 2012)

So, today is the 20th of June. I’m pausing in the marathon of painting to post this, since I’ve learned so far that the occasional day off is needed. I’ve also painted on at least one Saturday, so I guess one big thing I’m learning is that pacing myself doesn’t quite conform to a weekly schedule when it comes to creativity.

In the next entry, I’ll let you know how the the rest of the month goes.

